16 win awards for service to crime victims

PORTLAND – Sixteen individuals have been honored by the U.S. Attorney’s Office for outstanding service to crime victims.

The annual awards were presented Friday in conjunction with National Crime Victims’ Rights Week, according to a media release issued today by U.S. Attorney for Maine, Paula Silsby.

The award recipients were: Sheriff Donna Dennison and Detective Kirk Guerrette of the Knox County Sheriff’s Office; David Tibbets and Matthew Pryor of Lighthouse Teen Center; Paul Connair and Susannah Fuentes of the Preble Street Resource Center; Officers Jay Twomey and Joseph Ezepek of the Portland Police Department; Assistant District Attorney Katherine Tierney and Victim-Witness Advocate Kathy Stock of the Cumberland County District Attorney’s Office; Special Agent James Lechner and Victim-Witness Specialist Jennifer Keyes of the Federal Bureau of Investigation; Detective Laurie Northrup of the Maine State Police Computer Crimes Unit; Electronic Court Filing (ECF) System Specialist Michelle Mitchell of the U.S. District Court; and Paralegal Specialist Nancy Evans and Information Technology Specialist Karen Dube of the U.S. Attorney’s Office.