highlights from the 2013 annual celebration

2013 Annual Celebration

2013 Joe Kreisler Community Impact awardee Jennie Soares with David Kreisler
Preble Street associate director Jon Bradley presents the Community Partner Award to Mark Adelson of Portland Housing Authority
Renee Schwalberg, incoming board president, with outgoing president Cito Selinger, and Rob Ravenelle
Preble Street executive director Mark Swann presents the Board Member of the Year award to Reverend Ben Shambaugh

Preble Street Announces Community Awards

Portland Housing Authority was presented with the Community Partner Award and Jennie Soares, Resource Center Supervisor at Preble Street, was presented with the Joseph D. Kreisler Community Impact Award, by Preble Street at their recent annual meeting.

Other awards announced included the Volunteer of the Year Award presented to Bob Harradon of Yarmouth, a longtime volunteer at Preble Street Soup Kitchens, who was thanked for his tireless work and caring interaction with clients and other volunteers, that is the epitome of compassion, and for being a good steward and a wonderful human being.

In addition to the community service awards, Preble Street elected a new slate of officers.  They include Renee Schwalberg, Altarum Institute Practice Area Deputy for Policy, Planning, and Evaluation, president; Herb Janick, partner, Sidley Austin LLP, vice-president; Terry Sutton, senior vice president, business transformation, L.L. Bean, secretary; and Charlie Roscoe, retired Managing Partner, Berry, Dunn, McNeil & Parker, Certified Public Accountants, treasurer.

The Reverend Ben Shambaugh, dean, St. Luke’s Cathedral, was recognized as Board Member of the Year for her leadership and commitment to Preble Street’s mission, and Maurice “Cito” Selinger, partner, Curtis Thaxter was honored as he stepped down from a three-year tenure as board president.